Congratulations to Monash University's new AAHMS Fellows – Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences – Monash University

Share Article

If you’re feeling unwell, get tested for COVID-19 and stay home until you’ve received a negative result. View our latest COVID-19 updates.
You are here:

Six of our outstanding research leaders with expertise that spans cancer, diabetes and vascular health, rehabilitation in intensive care, rheumatology and sleep have been elected new Fellows of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (AAHMS).
The Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences elects the best and brightest minds in the field of medical and health sciences as Fellows, in recognition of their outstanding achievements and exceptional contributions to the sector. Fellows are acknowledged for their clinical, non-clinical, leadership, industry and research contributions.
Professor Christina Mitchell AO, Dean of Monash Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences congratulates the new AAHMS Fellows.
“These fellowships are recognition of outstanding research, expertise and ongoing impact to health and medical science. Congratulations to all the MNHS recipients” said Professor Mitchell.
Honours and Recognition: FAHMS
Primary Position: Professor of Medicine; Head, Eastern Health Clinical School
Professor Ian Davis is a medical oncologist with over 30 years’ experience and primary clinical and research focus in genitourinary cancers. He founded and chairs the Australian and New Zealand Urogenital and Prostate Cancer Trials Group (ANZUP), and is the global co-chair of the international ANZUP-led ENZAMET trial. This trial demonstrated improved survival with enzalutamide for metastatic hormone-sensitive prostate cancer and has led to regulatory approval in US, Europe, Japan, and Australia, leading to multiple awards, including the 2020 ACTA Trial of the Year Award, ACTA STInG Award for Excellence in Trial Statistics, and ACTA Consumer Involvement Award.
Through ANZUP, Professor Davis has established a global genitourinary cancer clinical trials network and mentored many senior clinician-researchers.

Honours and Recognition: AO FAHMS
Primary Position: Head, Department of Medicine
Professor Peter Ebeling’s national and international recognition for excellence in health and medical science and bone health is demonstrated by key leadership roles at the highest level, including as first non-North American President of the American Society of Bone and Mineral Research, Past-president of the Endocrine Society of Australia and Australian and New Zealand Bone and Mineral Society, and Board Member of the International Osteoporosis Foundation. Professor Ebeling mentors PhD students and endocrinology trainees and chairs Healthy Bones Australia, through which he has raised public understanding of bone health.
Professor Ebeling’s significant, sustained and ongoing contributions to advance health and medical science have led to changes in clinical practice and health policy.

Honours and Recognition: FAHMS
Primary Position: Head of the Division of Clinical Trials and Cohort Studies; Deputy Director, ANZIC-RC
Professor Carol Hodgson has an exceptional track record and leads a multidisciplinary, international research program in functional recovery after critical illness. This program has changed clinical practice and contributed new knowledge in the field, including international guidelines. Professor Hodgson is ranked in the top 1% worldwide for her expertise in topics such as ‘Critical Care’, ‘ECMO’ and ‘Clinical Trials’, and has been ranked number one globally for ‘Early Ambulation’ (
At Monash University, Professor Hodgson leads the Division of Clinical Trials, the NHMRC Centre for Research Excellence in ICUs, the National NHMRC-funded ECMO Registry and multiple international clinical trials. She is also an ICU Specialist Physiotherapist at The Alfred Hospital.

Honours and Recognition: FAHMS
Primary Position: Head, School of Clinical Sciences
Professor Eric Morand is an internationally renowned academic physician-scientist. His career has focused on integrating clinical and laboratory science to advance patient outcomes in lupus.
Professor Morand founded a multinational consortium to design and validate new clinical endpoints, solving a decade-long impasse responsible for multiple failed trials. He led the breakthrough Phase 3 trial of the novel medicine anifrolumab, resulting in approval of only the second new medicine for lupus in 60 years and formally validating a key aspect of SLE pathogenesis. Professor Morand’s work identifying molecular targets for an alternative to steroids won the highest award of the Lupus Research Alliance, US.

Honours and Recognition: FAHMS
Primary Position: Academic Head, School of Psychological Sciences; Deputy Director, Turner Institute for Brain and Mental Health
Professor Shanthakumar Rajaratnam’s research has taken circadian neuroscience into new clinical approaches: melatonin agonist (to FDA approval), light therapy and digital applications. He has published more than 165 peer-reviewed papers and two edited books, and he has led the peak body for sleep health and medicine (Australasian Sleep Association). He currently leads the Sleep Health Foundation.
Professor Rajaratnam was a Program Leader for the Alertness CRC (>$90 million), and a Chief Investigator on two NHMRC Centres for Research Excellence. At Monash, he established a multi-disciplinary sleep research program (now with nine labs), and a sleep research network across the university and six affiliated hospitals.

Honours and Recognition: FAHMS
Primary Position: Head, School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine
Professor Sophia Zoungas, Head of the School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine at Monash University, is a Clinical Endocrinologist recognised internationally for her role in advancing knowledge in the management of diabetes and its vascular complications. She leads Australia’s largest translational research program in diabetes care and benchmarking of diabetes services.
Professor Zounga’s research has led to improved prescribing for control of glucose and other cardiovascular risk factors among people with diabetes and identified new models of care that promote equity of access to best practice in the Australian community.

For a full list of 2022 AAHMS recipients visit the website.
About Monash University
Monash University is Australia’s largest university with more than 80,000 students. In the 60 years since its foundation, it has developed a reputation for world-leading high-impact research, quality teaching, and inspiring innovation.
With four campuses in Australia and a presence in Malaysia, China, India, Indonesia and Italy, it is one of the most internationalised Australian universities.
As a leading international medical research university with the largest medical faculty in Australia and integration with leading Australian teaching hospitals, we consistently rank in the top 50 universities worldwide for clinical, pre-clinical and health sciences.
For more news, visit Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences or Monash University.
E: [email protected]
We acknowledge and pay respects to the Elders and Traditional Owners of the land on which our Australian campuses stand. Information for Indigenous Australians
ABN 12 377 614 012
Monash University: 00008C
Monash College: 01857J
Chief Marketing Officer
University Marketing, Admissions and Communications
Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences Webmaster Team
Last updated: Oct 2022


You might also like

Surviving 2nd wave of corona

Surviving The 2nd Wave of Corona

‘This too shall pass away’ this famous Persian adage seems to be defeating us again and again in the case of COVID-19. Despite every effort